Queens Duo Scoop Another Double at PFA Awards

Not content with a league and cup double, manager Allan Johnston and top scorer Nicky Clark have, tonight, brought another double to the club. Allan was named the PFA Scotland Manager of the Year, while Nicky picked up the 2nd Division Player of the Year Award

A fitting end to a marvellous season and everyone at the club would like to congratulate both on their, well deserved, awards.

Nicky Clark receives his award from 53 times capped ex Scotland keeper, Alan Rough.

Allan Johnston receives his award from another ex Scotland internationalist like himself, current Aberdeen Manager, Derek McInnes.

PFA Scotland Young Player of the Year, Leigh Griffiths (Hibernian), Player of the Year, Michael Higdon (Motherwell) and Manager of the Year, Allan Johnston (Queen of the South).


Clark becomes the fourth QoS player to win this award after Jimmy Robertson (1980/81), Andy Thomson (1991/92 & 1993/94) and John O`Neill (2001/02).

Each player throughout the leagues is asked by PFA Scotland to select the team of the year in their respective league in a 4-3-3 formation. Six Queens players were named in the team as follows:-

* Lee Robinson (Queen of the South FC)

* Chris Mitchell (Queen of the South FC)

* Mark Durnan (Queen of the South FC)

* Ben Gordon (Alloa FC)

* Chris Higgins (Queen of the South FC)

* Alan Trouten (Brechin City FC)

* Ryan McCord (Alloa FC)

* Daniel Carmichael (Queen of the South FC)

* Andy Jackson (Brechin City FC)

* Nicky Clark (Queen of the South FC)

* Steven Doris (Arbroath FC)


For the divisional player of the year award won by Clark, Danny Carmichael was also on the shortlist along with Steven Doris and Andy Jackson. The others on the short list for the Manager of the year award were all from the SPL, Terry Butcher (Inverness), Neil Lennon (Celtic) and Stuart McCall (Motherwell).